National Programme Open Science

The foundations of the NPOS were laid in 2017, when the National Plan Open Science was signed by a large group of Dutch stakeholders. The NPOS sees Open Science as a broad transition in which various parties play a role. The aim of the programme is to achieve a coordinated effort towards the transition to Open Science, and to disseminate its importance. The NPOS supports and coordinates; however, the implementation of Open Science activities rests with the various parties involved.

In line with international initiatives like the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC), the goal of NPOS is to enable all national stakeholders to jointly transform science. The Netherlands occupies a leading position in the field of Open Science. This is due not only to the efforts of individual stakeholders, but also to their collective commitment under the NPOS banner.

Building on this solid foundation, it is now time to accelerate the transition towards our Open Science ambitions. To this end the NPOS2030 Multi-Annual Plan, which includes the NPOS2030 Ambition Document and a Rolling Agenda, is drawn up.

1. NPOS2030 Ambition Document

The developments in the years after the National Plan Open Science was launced, and the new insights they brought, are taken into account in the new NPOS2030 Ambition Document. This Ambition Document was drawn up through an open consultation with the field, and is based on four strategic goals, which include cooperation, inclusiveness, efficiency, transparency and integrity, accessibility and re-use.

2. Rolling Agenda

The Rolling Agenda will contain:

  • The milestones leading to the strategic goals of NPOS;
  • The action lines for achieving these goals and the related criteria and guiding principles that cut across the action lines;
  • The resources needed to implement the action lines;
  • The stakeholders engaged in the action lines and how they are involved.

3. Governance

Since the launch of the National Plan Open Science in 2017, the NPOS has led to greater collaboration and connectivity. In 2019, it was decided to work within a programme structure. Since then, investments have been made in strengthening national networks and also a number of projects.

It is expected that the current organisational structure will change. On 17 June 2022, the Minister of Education, Culture and Science announced in his Policy Letter (only in Dutch) that 20 million euros per year will be made available for Open Science starting next year. He has asked NWO to take responsibility for the spending of these funds and to set up a temporary ‘Regieorgaan Open Science’. This is based on the example of other directional bodies which fall under the NWO. With this body, efforts on a national level can be better coordinated and bundled.

These plans will be worked out in more detail in the coming months, in collaboration with the universities of applied sciences, the university medical centres and the service organisations such as SURF, DANS and 4TUdata. NWO has appointed the quartermaster/director Regieorgaan Open Science in augustus 2022. Until then, the current programme structure will remain in place. This is as follows:

The NPOS Steering Committee has the task of managing the transition to Open Science on a national level, with a connection to an international context. The Steering Committee consists of the directors of the largest research performing and funding organisations in the Netherlands, namely:  

  • Universities of the Netherlands (UNL)
  • Netherlands Federation of University Medical Centres (NFU)
  • Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Stan Gielen is Chair of the NPOS Steering Committee.

The National Coordinator Open Science (NCOS) is responsible for national coordination as well as for connection to Europe. The Steering Committee reappointed Karel Luyben as NCOS in 2020. In addition to NCOS, Luyben is chair of the Task Force Open Science of CESAER, and President of the European Open Science Cloud Association.

The NPOS Advisory Board has the task of giving both solicited and unsolicited advice to the Steering Committee. Although such advice is not binding, non-compliance by the Steering Committee will require an explanation. The Advisory Board is viewed as the Steering Committee’s sounding board. Members of the Advisory Board are:

  • SURF
  • The National Library of the Netherlands (KB)
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (KNAW)
  • Association of Universities of Applied Sciences (VH)
  • DANS
  • Collaborating Health Foundations (SGF)
  • Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Care Innovation (ZonMw) 
  • PhD candidates Network Netherlands (PNN)
  • eScience Center (NLeSC)

Jet de Ranitz is Chair of the NPOS Advisory Board.

The execution of the current NPOS programme tasks is organised along three programme lines

  • Fair Data, lead: Ruben Kok, DTL 
  • Open Access, lead: Darco Jansen, UvNL 
  • Citizen Science, lead: Margaret Gold, Citizen Science Lab, Leiden University

where the action lines in the forthcoming Rolling Agenda are set out along four different lines.